Takin' It To The Streets

Takin' It to the Streets® is WWOZ's coverage of second line and Mardi Gras Indian events.

This week:
Young Men Olympians Second Line Parade - Sunday, Sep. 23 at 1p

Check out these recent Takin' It to the Streets interviews.


Takin' It to the Streets Weekly Podcast: Listen each week to the real people who keep Second Line and Mardi Gras Indian traditions alive. Listen on iTunes or your favorite RSS reader.


Happening This Week

Young Men Olympians Second Line Parade

Sunday, September 23, 2018 -
1:00pm to 5:00pm

Young Men Olympians [Photo by Christy Grimes]

Coming Up Soon

Oct
7

Family Ties Second Line Parade

Sunday, October 7 at 2:00pm - 6:00pm

Oct
14

Prince of Wales Second Line Parade

Sunday, October 14 at 2:00pm - 6:00pm

Oct
21

Men of Class Second Line Parade

Sunday, October 21 at 2:00pm - 6:00pm

Oct
28

Original Four Second Line Parade

Sunday, October 28 at 2:00pm - 6:00pm

Oct
28

Black Men of Labor Second Line Parade

Sunday, October 28 at 2:00pm - 6:00pm

Nov
4

We Are One Second Line Parade

Sunday, November 4 at 2:00pm - 6:00pm

Nov
11

Sudan Second Line Parade

Sunday, November 11 at 2:00pm - 6:00pm

Nov
18

Nine Times and 9SL Second Line Parade

Sunday, November 18 at 2:00pm - 6:00pm

Nov
25

Men & Lady Buckjumpers Second Line Parade

Sunday, November 25 at 2:00pm - 6:00pm

 

More Takin' It to the Streets

Weekly Brass Band and Mardi Gras Indian Activities:

Tuesdays - Rebirth Brass Band at the Maple Leaf (8316 Oak St) - 10p

Wednesdays - TBC Brass Band at Celebration Hall (1701 St. Bernard) - 9p

Wednesdays - Treme Brass Band at Seal's Class Act (2169 Aubry St.) - 9:45p

Wednesdays - Andrews Family Brass Band at the Candlelight Lounge (925 N. Robertson) - 8p

Sundays - Hot 8 Brass Band at the Howlin' Wolf - "The Den" (907 S. Peters St) - 10p

WWOZ
Get the 'OZone monthly newsletter
facebook logo
Like us on Facebook
Volunteer
Volunteer at WWOZ
WWOZ
Hear it here!