Login or Register to post comments or add community events

Community Arts Award

Tue, Sep 24, 2013
5:00pm - 7:00pm
The Arts Council of New Orleans today announces the 2013 Community Arts 
Award recipients. The award recognizes individuals and organizations that have made outstanding 
contributions to the arts in New Orleans. This year’s Community Arts Award recipients represent a 
wide range of disciplines. Their work and impact in the community epitomize the spirit of giving 
that characterizes these awards.
Chaired by Amanda Mantle Winstead and co-chaired by Meaghan Ryan Bonavita, the 2013
Community Arts Awards will be held on Tuesday, September 24, 2013 from 5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. at 
the Contemporary Arts Center at 900 Camp Street. Patrons will receive an event preview and 
opportunity to greet the award recipients from 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Individual honorees include award-winning actor and activist Bryan Batt; painter, photographer, 
and curator Jan Gilbert; photographer and curator John Lawrence; dancer and influential dance 
educator Mary Munro; singer, musician and film score performer James Rivers; and Carnival 
designer and historian Henri Schindler. Organizations to be honored include Preservation Hall 
the iconic music venue, band, and record label with a mission to protect and honor New Orleans 
jazz and the New Orleans Shakespeare Festival at Tulane for excellence in artistic and 
educational programming sharing the works and words of William Shakespeare.
“New Orleans is graced with a vibrant culture and phenomenally talented artists. It is our honor to 
be able to celebrate those people and organizations who’ve given so much to our community,” Kim 
Cook, President and CEO of the Arts Council of New Orleans said. “This event provides an 
opportunity for all of us to pause and enthusiastically applaud their contributions to the unique 
qualities that make up New Orleans culture.”
New this year, each recipient will be featured in documentary video vignettes presented by local 
filmmakers- Sarah Devlin, Dave Greber, Gene Fredericks, Craig Kraemer, Royce Osborne, Travis 
Henry, Kat Sotelo, The Greenhouse Collective, Patti Perrett and Erin Healan. Honorees will also 
receive a custom-designed award by local artist Gogo Borgerding.
The Arts Council of New Orleans is a private, non-profit organization designated as the City’s 
official arts agency. Now in its 38th year, the Arts Council works in partnership with the City of 
New Orleans, community groups, local, state and national governmental agencies, foundations and 
other non-profit arts organizations to meet the arts and cultural needs of the greater New Orleans 
area through a diversity of initiatives and services.


Contemporary Arts Center
900 Camp Street
New Orleans, LA
Login or Register to post comments or add community events